top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiene Kazaka

Is this my waste?

Updated: Feb 17, 2020

The picture above was taken in India back in 2015 when I was not familiar with words “climate emergency”, when I did not know that the technologies to create sustainable economies were being developed and when I thought that we could still maybe get away with it.

Now in 2020 I’m sure that we caņ’t get away with anything really because there is no away, everything that is designed-created- consumed- thrown away stays on the same planet as us. So where does it all go? Where are all of the items I have used and thrown away in my lifetime? Is that crisp packet in the river mine from 10 years ago?

I’m starting this journey to answer very simple questions about what happens to my waste. Although so much has been developed and knowledge shared about sustainability, circular design and recycling materials I still feel that there is a missing piece of a puzzle – what actually happens to our waste when it leaves our homes.

0 comments
bottom of page