top of page
  • Writer's pictureLiene Kazaka

Eating the underdogs

If you have seen my Bin Diary, you might have noticed that I don't throw out many food packages (I have recently realised most of my unrecyclable waste comes from horrible unhealthy snacks) and I want to share the reason.


Firstly I am "wannabe vegan". I follow the rule of not consciously buying any animal products, but when a particular craving comes - I give in. Let's put it that way, I won't have block of cheese in my fridge, but I would have an occasional pizza once in a while.


So mostly my meals consist of vegetables and for the past couple of months I have been ordering fruit and vegetable boxes from Oddbox.


The box comes full of fruit and vegetables that were deemed to be unfit for conventional sale (too big, too small, too ugly, too weird) but perfectly edible (I can definitely relate to these veggies!). They come in cardboard box and with almost no packaging inside, in every box there is newsletter that tells a story of how they got to your box and how farmers have been doing this week. I actually would say that the newsletter is my favourite part of the box as it gives back that lost connection between the consumers and people growing the food. It's a wonderful thing to read with my morning coffee!

I also enjoy the moment of surprise when I find unexpected vegetables in the box and learning new recipes how to cook them. Because of the box I have tried Jerusalem artichokes, purple and yellow carrots, rainbow chards, learned how to like celery and that leek soups are actually nice. I would suggest to give it a try!


For me works ordering Medium Fruit and Veg box (£14.99) every two weeks.


0 comments
bottom of page